Addiction Is Staying With Me For The Holidays

photo (67)

Her name Is Addiction

and she’s staying with me

for the holidays.

“Dee,” we call her for short.

 

Dee slipped into

my life

right before Thanksgiving,

and now has moved into

every room of the house.

 

Dee doesn’t care

that I have kids,

or drive a car

or go to work.

She lives by her own impulses,

and makes demands

that must be met

any time

at any moment

of any day.

 

What would happen

If I said, “no” is not known,

as Dee is very persuasive,

often leaving me feeling sleepy,

and malleable just enough,

so that a boundary,

any boundary,

can be pushed with ease.

 

Dee knows her visit is mixed;

intense pleasure

alongside intense angst;

angst over my permissiveness,

my everything is okay-ness,

over admitting

that I enjoy Dee

and her presence,

no matter how much

she burn’s me out.

And that I let her

get away with more shit,

than any other being

I have in my life.

 

I hope I don’t see Dee again

for some time (undefined).

Her stay is not forever,

and even she will know

when that stay

has been out welcomed,

slipping away

in the same manner

as always;

slow, languid,

a heavy trail of essence,

fragrant in every room,

reminding me

that she has been here

or is coming

and that I better be ready.

 

Diana Ray

Photography By Diana Ray

3 thoughts on “Addiction Is Staying With Me For The Holidays

  1. I feel your pain, the conflicting joys and agonies. Dee is a regular for me as well. Chronic pain brings with it the horrors of pain killer addiction. It is o impossibly for people to understand what addiction does to you, so I feel am instant connection with my fellow servants. May you someday find your peace and freedom.

  2. Pingback: Addiction Is Staying With Me For The Holidays | Spinning Webbs

Leave a Reply

