The Forgotten Sense/Poem To My Yoni

photo 2 (15)

You have forgotten me

shut me out

put up yellow tape,

“Caution,”

“No trespassing,”

“Do not enter.”

 

A lush dense forest

unknown animals

dwelling inside,

an eco-system pulsing and untouched.

It is you from which I was born

gave life

excrete that which is not needed.

 

I peek inside and gasp-

pearly walls

butterfly wings

lotus lips.

A rabbit hole leading somewhere

I can imagine in my mind,

ecstatic

safe

snug.

 

I was born with you

and I will die with you.

Whole cultures rally shame

around your existence.

But you are simply

just another part of me,

-like a finger

-a tongue

-an eye.

Tools I would never consider disregarding.

So why do I disregard you?

 

If I can touch

and taste

and see

why should I deny

that which is my birthright,

my life-force?

 

The forgotten sense,

That’s what you are.

A sense I know only

the bare essentials of.

 

Slowly, I remove the tape.

 

photo 3 (6)

photo 4 (3)

Leave a Reply

