More Thoughts on Healing

photo 4 (1)

Tonight I cooked shredded zucchini for dinner.  I browned the zucchini in piping hot olive oil and seasoned it with delectable herbs.  Soon a heavenly aroma filled the air.  Over high heat the shredded zucchini, quite juicy when cooked, gave off a warm steam.  That, in combination with the enticing aroma, prompted me to lean into this warm steam, eyes closed, and inhale.  The lusciousness of the sautéed zucchini had me:  I was going to bask in this incredible aroma for all its’ got.  To let my senses roam free as smell and taste and tactile (the steam felt amazing!) took me to an altered state of consciousness.  Then I came out of it.  It was delicious.

Last night I experienced my first sweat lodge.  The aromatic steam created from fresh water poured over hot rocks was incredibly healing.  Mixed with Bear Root, an awakening. Somewhere in there lies tonights’ dinner.  Aho.

Diana Ray/April Aronoff

Photography by Diana Ray

photo (9)

photo (56)

One thought on “More Thoughts on Healing

  1. Love your descriptive writing! I was right there with you inhaling the aroma! I recently experienced my first sauna, and the heat was so divine, i felt my whole body relax and emotions buried deep came to the surface. Later that evening I had a good cry, and I can’t wait to do it again! I would love to experience a sweat lodge! You are doing very well on your path of healing!

Leave a Reply

