Healing With Birds

IMG_2786

As I was about to plunge into my darkest hour, that place of utter self-deprecation and fear, a flock of birds began to fly in and out of my garden.  It was quite a sight!  They flew to and from the bare branches of my apricot tree, and the feeling of watching them come and go was nothing short of grace.  They were beautiful; flying away from the tree individually or in pairs, flying back to the tree as a flock, a giant wave made of bird instead of water, landing almost simultaneously on each branch.  It took my breath away.

And I felt myself soften, my desire to avoid slip away.

Now I could connect, tap in, something that felt almost painful in recent days.  I had gone from feeling completely resonant with my intention to experience deep fulfillment, to feeling like I had crossed all the wrong lines within myself.

But then the birds came and filled me with joy.

And it came to me as I sat in stillness that this wobbling, this going off-center, is all part of the experience of going deep.  Of knowing when we have strayed too far from the path and need to get back on track.

And how I handle getting back on track, as difficult as it is, well that’s just another experience of going deep.

I almost beat myself up.  Instead, I helped myself up.

Thanks to the birds 🙂

Magic is everywhere, even in our darkest hour!  I must remember:  It’s important to look to the light, even when the darkness beckons.

IMG_2765

IMG_2780

Diana Ray/April Aronoff

Photography By Diana Ray

4 thoughts on “Healing With Birds

  1. I read on the Internet that “The greatest healing comes from ravens.” They know when you are at the lowest point in your life somehow. Also, once I got trapped on top of a house I was working on: My ladder slipped down and I was afraid to go down it. I sat there for 3 hours, when a flock of 30 or ore bluebirds came over my head. I had never seen more than one or two around before that. It gave me the inspiration I needed to overcome fear and go down the ladder.

Leave a Reply

